January 4, 2012

  • I'm Half Way Through "The Girl

    ...Who Played With Fire",  and I'm not sure I like these books.   I tell you it took me 300 pages to get "into" the first one,  'The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo", the first of the overly hyped and verbose tomes that Stieg Larson submitted just before dying...

    I am not sure about "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest"... 

    I would have put the first one down if friends had not encouraged me to continue.  I tell you it was dry.   There was just enough sprinkled in to keep me going.

    I found my suspension of disbelief fully tested about one detail that solved a riddle/crime and was actually disappointed at the outcome, and I can't say why without giving away the ending. Shit.

    This second in the series is better starting out.  Something keeps me going but at the same time I don't find it exhilarating,  neither were either the Swedish version of the movie and the recent American release of the first in the series (which gives away foreshadowing of what is to come where the first book does not).  Two more American versions are bound to follow.

    Anyhow,  I read a couple of books before I started the "Girl" series;   "Murder on Sister's Row" by Victoria Thompson, 13th in the Gaslight Murder Mystery series which I love (takes places in 1890's Manhattan!!)  "Zero, The Biography of a Dangerous Idea" forgot the author, interesting and complex.   Actually quite eye opening to read about the concept of worlds and cultures where Zero did not exist, such as ancient Egypt.

    My hand which was operated on is now better than the regular hand.  I need to get the second surgery, I don't know when.  My right is not as bad as my left was anyhow...

    I just felt like blogging after all this time.
    .
    .

Comments (1)

  • saw the girl with the dragon tattoo the other day - good flick. I'm just nicely into the last book of the Eragon series. peace, Al

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment